2016-2017 Student Employee of the Year Winners
return to Section Index

Congratulations to all 2016-2017
Student Employee of the Year Winners

WASEA Regional Winner

On behalf of the WASEA Executive Board, and the broader WASEA membership, I would like to congratulate all of the Student Employee of the Year winners from the campus level, state level, and regional level. It has been such an honor to read through many of the nominations and learn first-hand the amazing contributions being made by student employees across the western states.

This year's Regional winner is Jaren Oldroyd of Brigham Young University. Jaren works as the Senior Student Supervisor for the Campus Security Office. His duties include monitoring 110 buildings, proper radio use, emergency medical response, intrusion and fire alarm response, crowd control, and traffic control.

His supervisor wrote, "...I appreciate most his ability to be a facilitator—someone who helps make something happen." The supervisor went on to give an example of this strength by sharing how Jaren took on the task of developing a comprehensive training program after recognizing the inconsistent training for new officers. He went on to say, "The way Jaren leads, how he makes shift assignments, and then contracts each officer on the shift is crucial in providing the best service possible to the University. He works hard to keep student officers motivated. Any other style of leadership would fail in this environment."

Jaren's contributions to his campus community exemplifies the best of what Student Employees have to offer. WASEA wishes Jaren the very best as he graduates and moves into the next chapter of his life and career.

WASEA Regional Winner Jaren Oldroyd of Brigham Young University

WASEA State Winners
The National Student Employment Association (NSEA) designates one week each year for universities and colleges across the country to recognize the substantial contributions of students who work on and off campus. This year in the WASEA Region 752 students from 30 institutions were nominated for the Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY) Award on their campuses.

While there can only be one Regional Winner, the State Winners are all exemplary student employees. We honor each of them for their dedication and willingness to go the extra mile. Congratulations to all those who earned this recognition through their tireless efforts.

Gabe Decker
Yavapai College

Geraldine Villa
California State University—Sacramento

Trenten Robinson
Colorado State University

Tyler Lum
University of Hawaii at Manoa

Ryan MacNeill
Montana State University—Missoula

Asper McCown
Truckee Meadows Community College

New Mexico
Jared Miller
University of New Mexico

Benjamin Thomas
Portland State University

Jared Oldroyd
Brigham Young University

Brooklyn Groves
Western Washington University

Jordan Turner
University of Wyoming

About WASEA | Membership | Professional Development | Communication | Student Recognition/SEOTY
Contact Us | Website Help | Privacy/Terms | Home
Copyright © 2015-2019 WASEA
Copying or distributing contents expressly forbidden. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED