2015-2016 Student Employee of the Year Winners
return to Section Index

Congratulations to all 2015-2016
Student Employee of the Year Winners

WASEA Regional Winner

On behalf of the WASEA Executive Board, and the broader WASEA membership, I would like to congratulate all of the Student Employee of the Year winners, both state and regional. One of the greatest things this organization does is recognize and honor the hard work our student employees do.

This year's Regional winner is Maritza Arizaga-Prado from Colorado State University. She works as a project assistant, helping with logistics, communication efforts, support of trainees, strategic planning, and proposal writing.

He supervisor wrote, "...there are plenty of stories I could provide that highlight her on-going reliability, excellent work quality, proactive nature, and professionalism. It is this consistent combination of going above and beyond the call of duty on all of these attributes that make her uniquely qualified for this award."

Maritza's contributions to the projects she was involved in demonstrate the qualities all employees should strive to embody. As a student employee of the Center for Protected Area Management (CPAM), she showed leadership and initiative in addressing long-simmering needs without having to be asked. When she saw that improvements could be made in briefing drivers on details about the area and conservation stories, she recommended that driver's guides be created to brief them.

As a testament to her impact, her efforts to keep in contact with past visitors and participants in the program have lead to many emails indicating how powerful it is to receive these reminders of their time there.

I will conclude with a few more words from her supervisor. "She has made our organization stronger, more organized, more balanced, more diverse, and more efficient with her presence."

WASEA State Winners
The National Student Employment Association (NSEA) designates one week each year for universities and colleges across the country to recognize the substantial contributions of students who work on and off campus. This year in the WASEA Region 560 students from 29 institutions were nominated for the Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY) Award on their campuses.

While there can only be one Regional Winner, the State Winners are all exemplary student employees. We honor each of them for their dedication and willingness to go the extra mile. Congratulations to all those who earned this recognition through their tireless efforts.

Hannah O'Brien
Yavapai College

Keylen Newsome
California State University - Sacramento

Maritza Arizaga-Prado
Colorado State University

Mandy Chen
University of Hawaii at Manoa

Cody Dayley
Montana State University - Billings

Ashley Stone
Truckee Meadows Community College

New Mexico
Alicia Dominguez
University of New Mexico

Cree Dueker
Portland State University

Earl Roberts
Walla Walla University

Jordan Turner
University of Wyoming

About WASEA | Membership | Professional Development | Communication | Student Recognition/SEOTY
Contact Us | Website Help | Privacy/Terms | Home
Copyright © 2015-2019 WASEA
Copying or distributing contents expressly forbidden. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED